Posted by: Andrew G | February 12, 2010

The Jesus Christ Experience — Inspired by Jimi Hendrix

Today’s post is a real mash of ideas that have been sloshing around in my brain for a few weeks. I was browsing through other blogs and came across a comment that went something like,

“I’ve never really experienced Jesus in my life.”

This got me thinking about the Jimi Hendrix Experience, and especially the line,

“Have you ever been experienced?”

Now, Jimi might have been talking about something else, but I just couldn’t shake the feeling this idea had to be taken a little farther…

Would it not be wicked cool to put together a band called the Jesus Christ Experience?

The band could cover all of Jimi’s classics, but vamp them up a little with the Jesus message. Glorious guitar solos, bombarding bass runs and driving drum rhythms!

Here’s my first attempt at some new lyrics for the old experience (to Voodoo Child):

Bible Child!

(revamped by Andrew Gilchrist with woots to Jimi)

God stands up next to my mountain
Ohh, my big dark rocky mountain of sin!
Yeah!
Well, God stands up next my mountain
And God chops it down with the edge of his hand!
Then picks up the pieces and makes a paradise land,
And says, try not to sin again!
.
Cause I’m a do-good child
Lord knows I’m a do-good child
.
I didn’t mean to do those nasty things
So I’m gonna give my time to those in need!
Oh yeah!
I didn’t mean to do all those nasty things
So I’ll give by helping my community!
Oh yeah!
If I don’t meet you no more in this world then, uh
I’ll meet ya on up in heaven!
Don’t be late
Jesus is meeting us for a date!
.
Cause I’m a do-good child
Lord knows I’m a do-good child
.
I’m a do-good child baby
I pray to find my answers!
Yeah!
.
.

(my first attempt at a shopped

pic, I think the other one

came out much better)

.
.

I might try a few more pics, I don’t know.
Wouldn’t that be a sweet concert, though?

Responses

  1. Hahahahahahaha… honestly, this totally made me smile.

  2. 🙂 yay!


Leave a Reply

Categories

